One Thoughtful Panini…

I’ve eaten a lot of paninis, so many that I like to consider myself a panini connoisseur.  On my blog, I share the ones that stand out- this one stood out.  I went to Ballaro in New York on an early Sunday afternoon, unaware that they were only serving their brunch menu and not their regular menu, which included a long list of paninis.  Fortunately for me, my waitress and I devised a plan where we could create an amazing panini despite their limited Sunday ingredients.

Lo and behold this thoughtfully created panini, a perfect example of why two minds are better than one:

IMG_6477

This panini consisted of the basic Italian ingredients: Parmesan, arugula, olive oil, and Bresaola.  My waitress, who was from Italy, explained to me how they make Bresaola in her country.  It is an air dried beef, that has been aged for two to three months until it becomes this rich purple color (see next picture).

Much to my surprise, this panini was thoughtfully created in yet one more way:

IMG_6481

 

Mid bite, I noticed that the Bresaola had been grilled on the panini separately before grilled with the sandwich (notice the grill marks).  Genius!

PANINI TIP: Depending on the type of ingredients, grill the meats and veggies in your sandwich separately before you grill them all together.

 

Enjoy,

Sani

5 thoughts on “One Thoughtful Panini…

  1. First time that i heard of such advice on preparing Panini – cool. I guess it does depend on the vegetables, maybe if you’re using lettuce or cabbage that’s not shredded, then you can grill it separately.

Leave a Reply

